Work in progress {Journals}…

So, I had this post on my drafts for more than a week, I was waiting just to get my covers back from the ceramic studio where I fired them to publish it.  Oh well, just let me tell you yesterday I got my share of anger for the whole year. The thing is that I took my book covers to this ceramic studio in Provo to get them fired; well, from the 7 sets of covers I made, I just got 2 back in good condition, the rest were broken or cracked. I got super mad, not only by the fact that they couldn’t do their job (I mean, I got them there safe all the way from my apartment and it seems it only took them a little trip from the shelf to the kiln to break them), but the worst part is they were trying to make me think it was my fault, as if I didn’t know how to work with ceramics. After this, I decided I am done making ceramics until I get my own kiln, it is just not worth it. I worked so many hours to have them perfect and ready to bring them to Craft Lake City, and all just went to the drain. Anyway, it’s one of those things that teach you a lesson, the one that I learned was not going back to that place ever again.

At least I have these pictures to remember how great they were turning out –and to suffer a little more for what happened, I guess. I’ll definitely try to remake them someday, but I’ll leave it for the time when I can be the only responsible of any mistakes or accidents that occur.

*****

Pues resulta que he tenido este post en mis borradores por más de una semana, lo único que estaba esperando para publicarlo era tener estas cubiertas de regreso del lugar donde las llevé a hornear. Pues bueno, déjenme les cuento que ayer hice el coraje del año cuando fui a recogerlas. La cosa fue que llevé todas las pastas estas cubiertas para ser horneadas en este pequeño estudio de cerámica en Provo, y resulta que de los 7 pares que llevé sólo me regresaron dos en buenas condiciones, el resto estaba roto o agrietado. Me enojé tanto, no sólo porque no fueron capaces de hacer su trabajo (digo, si yo fui capaz de llevarlas intactas desde mi departamento, parece que a ellos sólo les tomó moverlas de su repisa al horno para romperlas) sino que además trataron de hacerme pensar que todo fue mi culpa, como si yo no supiera como trabajar con cerámica. Después de esto, decidí que ya no haré nada de cerámica hasta que tenga mi propio horno, simplemente no vale la pena. Trabajé tantas horas para tenerlas perfectas y listas para traerlas a Craft Lake City, y todo se fue a la basura en un momento. En fin, supongo que es una de esas cosas que te enseñan un lección, la que yo aprendí es no regresar a ese lugar nunca más.

Al menos tengo estas fotos para recordar lo bien que estaban quedando –y supongo que también servirán para hacerme sufrir un poco después de lo que pasó. Pero definitivamente trataré de rehacerlas algún día, pero lo dejaré para cuando yo sea la única responsable de cualquier accidente o error que pueda ocurrir.

CarvedCovers

Only the one in the top left came out fine

WorkInProgress2

This is one of the 2 sets that survived

WorkInProgress3

WorkInProgress4

WorkInProgress1

On other things, I am also working on some new screen prints (that my hubby is so willingly helping me pull out) and a new batch of business cards. I haven’t taken any pictures yet, so they will have to wait for another post. See? I told you having a phone is pure convenience! However, I kind of liked using my camera to get the making of the book covers.

So, at least 2 new journals will be available at Craft Lake City in 10 days!

*****

Hablando de otras cosas, también estoy trabajando en nuevas impresiones de serigrafía (que mi esposo tan amablemente me está ayudando a imprimir) y también en un nuevo juego de tarjetas de presentación. No he tomado fotos todavía, así que eso tendrá que esperar para otro post ¿Ven? Les dije qué conveniente es tener un teléfono, aunque la verdad me gustó usar la cámara para capturar el proceso de las cubiertas.

Así que al menos 2 nuevos diarios estarán disponibles en Craft Lake City en 10 días!

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

