Brand new toy!

wheel

Last week I got what felt like a late Christmas present, the snow we had that day made it feel more like it. Yup! I got my first wheel! Nothing fancy, only something that will allow me to keep going and creating stuff. I haven’t tried it yet because setting up my “studio” has taken longer than expected (and by studio I only mean a table and some shelves where I can put my stuff). Let’s just say my almost two-year-old has sucked all the energy I had left the past few days. I’m not complaining or anything, I simply realized that sometimes you just need to balance things out. You know what they say, don’t bite off more than you can chew, right? Right now, my daughter is my priority and she will be until she’s probably married and having children of her own; then my grandchildren will be my priority LOL. No, seriously, in the past few months since my graduation I have realized that being a mother, for me, means a lot more than anything I can do professionally. And don’t get me wrong, I will keep working on my projects and all the dreams I have had on being an artist; it’s just that, lately, trying to do all became exhausting. So, I decided to focus only on the most important for now, which is my family, until all my strength is back on track (which only means until I can go a night without sleep or at least going to bed a few hours later). I know I can do it , and I will do it because if there is something I have learned in the years I have been married is that there is time for everything, it’s just a matter of being organized and having a support team behind you. My husband has been an awesome supporter, my biggest fan and the greatest advocate of my dreams, and I could not ask for anything more. Seriously, I can’t even imagine how I would have done it without him, and the help of my awesome sister and mother-in-law of course, who came to exclusively help with our daughter so that we both could keep going with school. So yeah, that’s the story of why I haven tried my new wheel and I haven’t been blogging as much lately.  And I know it’s only a matter of sitting down and do it, but I rather do it at a time when I can actually enjoy it (hopefully this weekend). For now, all my energy will remain focused on this beautiful little girl…

*****

La semana pasada recibí lo que se sintió como un regalo de navidad un poco atrasado, y ciertamente la nieve que tuvimos ese día hizo que se sintiera más como mañana de navidad. Así es ¡compré mi primer torno! Nada espectacular ni ostentoso, simplemente algo que me permitirá seguir creando cosas. Todavía no he tenido oportunidad de probarlo, porque poner en orden mi “estudio” ha tomado mucho más tiempo del que esperaba (y con estudio, lo único que quiero decir es una mesa y unas repisas donde pueda poner mis cosas). Digamos que mi hija de casi dos años me ha chupado toda la energía que me quedaba en estos últimos días; y no me estoy quejando ni nada por el estilo, simplemente me dí cuenta que algunas veces lo único que necesitas es balancear tu vida y ocupaciones para hacer las cosas bien. Como dice el dicho, el que mucho abarca, poco aprieta. Así que por ahora, prefiero darle toda mi atención a mi hija, quien es mi prioridad y que lo seguirá siendo probablemente hasta que ella esté casada y teniendo a sus propios hijos; entonces, mis nietos se volverán mi prioridad jajaja. No, ya en serio, en estos últimos meses desde mi graduación, me he dado cuenta que ser mamá significa, para mí, mucho más que todas las cosas que profesionalmente podría lograr. Y con esto no quiero decir que estoy haciendo de lado mis proyectos por completo; es solo que, últimamente, tratar de hacer las dos cosas se volvió agotador. Así que decidí preocuparme por lo que es más importante, lo cual es mi familia, hasta que mis fuerzas se recarguen (lo que significa, hasta que pueda otra vez aventarme una noche sin dormir o al menos desvelarme unas horas). Sé que puedo hacerlo, y lo voy a hacer; porque si algo he aprendido en los años que llevo de casada es que hay tiempo para todo, es solo cuestión de organizarse y tener un apoyo que te anime en el proceso. Mi esposo ha sido el mejor apoyo, y también es mi fan más leal y un gran defensor de mis metas; de verdad no podría pedir nada mejor. En serio, no se cómo le hubiera hecho sin su ayuda, y por supuesto la ayuda de mi buenísima hermana y mi suegra, quienes vinieron exclusivamente a ayudarnos con nuestra hija para que pudiéramos seguir con la escuela. Así que esa es la historia de por qué no he estrenado mi torno y casi no he bloggeado últimamente. Y sé que solo es cuestión de sentarme y hacerlo, pero prefiero hacerlo en un momento en el que realmente lo pueda disfrutar (espero que ese momento llegue este fin de semana). Por ahora, toda mi energía permanecerá concentrada en esta hermosa criaturita…

chiquiturra

chiquiturra2

chiquiturra4 chiquiturra3

One response to “Brand new toy!

  1. Pingback: Finally!! My Etsy shop is up and running | Where the Clay and Hands Meet·

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

