Inspiration Friday

Lilly Waller's

If you read my post on RAKU last month, you know how passionate I am about this process. I found this really cool video the other day and wished the one I recorded would have looked this awesome. Anyway, it inspires me! and it also raises the question, again, about functional ceramics being art. I do think they are, I don’t think all functional pieces out there are, but I think those where you can see a creative process behind definitely are. In the case of functional ceramics, what makes them so especial is that, if they are hand-made, they are unique, they are one of a kind, they had a process, an idea developed into something tangible. So, yes, I do think art and functionality can work together very nicely. But what do you guys think?

I tried to head over to the website posted on the video, but apparently it doesn’t work anymore; but I found Lilly Waller’s Facebook page in case you want to check out their work. Lilly Waller is an artist working in Lima, Peru, where she has her studio and store. I wish I could find more info from the about page, but that’s that for now. Enjoy and have a great weekend!

*****

Si leyeron mi entrada acerca de RAKU el mes pasado, ya saben cómo me apasiona este proceso. Encontré este video buenísimo el otro día y deseé que el que yo grabé se hubiera visto así de suave. En fin, lo vi y ¡me inspira! Y también trae la pregunta a flote, otra vez, acerca de las piezas funcionales y de si pueden ser consideradas arte o no. Yo creo que sí, no creo que todas las piezas funcionales que existen hoy en día lo son, pero definitivamente sí aquellas donde puedes notar que hubo un proceso creativo. En el caso de la cerámica funcional, lo que la hace especial es que, si fue hecha a mano entonces es única, no hay otra similar, tuvo un proceso, una idea que se desarrolló hasta ser algo tangible. Así que sí, yo creo que la funcionalidad y el arte no están peleados. Pero ¿qué piensan ustedes?

Traté de ir al website que está ligado al video, pero aparentemente ya no funciona; pero encontré la página de Facebook de Lilly Waller, en caso de que quieran conocer su trabajo. Lilly Waller es una artista que trabaja en Lima, Perú, donde tiene su estudio y su tienda. Hubiera querido encontrar más información acerca de ella en la página, pero pues eso es todo por ahora. ¡Disfruten el video y tengan un excelente fin de semana!

Link to video

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

