Printmaking: Lithography

Another class I took during the Fall of 2011 was Lithography (I took this one along with Intaglio), and let me tell you that I had never had so much fear of messing up like I feared during this class. I guess all the horror stories I heard were kind of true. Seriously, this printmaking process, although it’s amazing, it is also complex, exact, and requires a lot of attention. And by attention I mean that any mistake can ruin all the work and hours put into an image; I think that’s the reason I took so many notes like I had never taken for an art class before. I’m glad that none of my prints were ruined, but I didn’t like that I worried about getting them printed correctly more than I worried for the actual image. And it’s not that I don’t like my prints, it’s just that by the time I felt confident with the Litho printing process I was already working with the last print and I could finally draw an image more like something I really wanted and not like something that would hurt less if it got ruined. Anyway, I am just grateful I had the luck the ability to not ruin any print. I wish I had more pictures from the process, but taking pictures would have required a helper; it was kind of difficult to find someone to do it since I always worked very early in the morning or very late at night –having a baby certainly makes things more fun :)

*****

Otra clase que tomé durante el semestre de Otoño del 2011 fue Litografía (la tomé junto con Intaglio) y déjenme decirles que nunca había tenido tanto miedo de echar a perder algo como lo tuve durante esta clase. Creo que todas las historias de horror que había escuchado eran en parte reales. En serio, este proceso de impresión, aunque es asombroso, también es súper complejo, exacto y requiere de mucha atención, Y cuando digo atención me refiero a que cualquier error, por muy pequeño que parezca, puede arruinar todo el trabajo y horas invertidas en una imagen. Creo que esa es la razón por la que tomé tantas notas, como nunca antes lo había hecho para una clase de arte. Me siento bien de que ninguna de mis imágenes se echó a perder, pero no me gustó mucho que me preocupaba más por imprimirlas correctamente de lo que me preocupé por las imágenes en sí. Y no es que no me gusten mis impresiones, es sólo que para el momento que ya me sentía más confiada con todo el proceso ya estaba trabajando con mi última imágen, y finalmente pude hacer algo más como lo que realmente quería y no como algo que no me dolería mucho si se arruinaba. En fin, sólo agradezco que tuve la suerte la habilidad de no arruinar ninguna de mis imágenes. Ojalá tuviera más fotos del proceso, pero para poder tomarlas hubiera necesitado un ayudante; fue difícil tener uno disponible puesto que yo trabajaba muy temprano en la mañana o casi a media noche –tener una bebé ciertamente hace las cosas más divertidas :)

Beauty, 2011

Beauty, 2011

Fire Blower, 2011

Fire Blower, 2011

Rutas de mi memoria, 2011

Rutas de mi memoria, 2011

Drawing process

Drawing process

Etching the aluminum plates

Etching the aluminum plates

The plate before printing

The plate before printing

BAT - First one out!

BAT – First one out!

Complete edition

Complete edition

If you have never heard about this printmaking process, I found this video where the art of Lithography is explained. Since the class I took was an introductory class, we worked with aluminum plates instead of stones. I think that knowing how many things can ruin not only the image but the stones! Let’s just say it was less risky for us beginners. At the end, the etching process on the aluminum plate is the same, it was just less intimidating.

If you would like to see more of my artwork click here

*****

Si nunca han escuchado acerca de este proceso de impresión, encontré un videito donde se explica el arte de la lithografiía. Ya que la clase que yo tomé era solo una introducción, nosotros trabajamos con placas de alumino en lugar de piedras. Creo que sabiendo todo lo que puede pasar que arruinaría no sólo la imágen sino la piedra también, sería un riesgo muy grande para nosotros los principiantes. A fin de cuentas, el proceso en aluminio es el mismo que en la piedra, simplemente lo hizo menos intimidante.

Si quieren ver más de mi trabajo den click aquí

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

