Printmaking: Intaglio

I signed up for this class for the Winter semester of 2011, but since I was pregnant I had to drop the class because of the exposure to strong chemicals and fumes. However, all I heard were horror stories about how difficult and time-consuming this class was (along with Lithography, this one being the worst of the two). So, when I finally was able to take the class in the Fall, I was kind of scared. Seriously, I didn’t know if I was gonna make it –specially being a new mom and this being my first semester back at school since my daughter was born. Yes, the class was very time-consuming but it was so fun and so interesting. I just loved the whole process and wished I had more time to take the advanced classes; however, it was not in my plans to graduate :( Anyway, I think I learned the basics and just enough that, if I ever have the chance to get my hands on a rolling press again, I will go nuts making new prints! These are some images of the prints I made, needless to say, I enjoyed it very much :)

*****

Me inscribí a esta clase de intaglio en el semestre de invierno del 2011 pero, como estaba embarazada, la tuve que dejar ya que estaría expuesta a químicos y olores muy fuertes. Sin embargo, todo lo que escuchaba de esa clase eran historias de horror, de qué tan difícil era y todo el tiempo que se requería (lo mismo escuchaba de la clase de litografía, ésta siendo la peor de las dos). Así que cuando finalmente pude tomar la clase en el semestre de otoño, la verdad estaba un poco asustada. En serio, con todo lo que escuchaba no sabía si podría con todo el trabajo –especialmente porque éste era mi primer semestre de regreso en la escuela desde que había nacido mi hija . Y sí, la clase requirió muchísimo tiempo, pero la verdad fue muy divertida e interesante. Me encantó todo el proceso y en algún momento deseé tener más tiempo para tomar las clases avanzadas; sin embargo, eso no estaba en mis planes para graduarme :( En fin, creo que aprendí lo suficiente que, si un día tengo la oportunidad de poner mis manos en una prensa de presión otra vez ¡no dudo que me volveré loca creando nuevas impresiones! Estas son algunas imágenes de las impresiones que hice, y no me queda más que decir que disfruté mucho aprender esta técnica :)

Screw, 2011

Screw, 2011

Screw {detail}, 2011

Screw {detail}, 2011

Sweet Dreams, 2011

Sweet Dreams, 2011

Sweet Dreams {detail}, 2011

Sweet Dreams {detail}, 2011

Untitled, 2011

Untitled, 2011

Untitled, 2011

Untitled {detail}, 2011

Decisions, 2011

Decisions, 2011

Decisions {detail}, 2011

Decisions {detail}, 2011

If you don’t know about intaglio, it’s a printmaking process that requires a lot of work and planification. I found a short video where the intaglio process is explained really well, in case you are interested to learn more about it.

*****

Si nunca habían escuchado acerca de intaglio, es una técnica de impresión que requiere mucho trabajo y sobre todo planificación. Encontré un pequeño video donde se explica súper bien el proceso de intaglio, en caso de que les interese aprender un poco más acerca de él.

I know, it sounds very complex but the results are so worth the effort. I think this is the only 2D medium that I have considered to keep working with, it is so fun!

If you would like to see more of my artwork click here

*****

Yo sé que suena todo muy complicado, y lo es, pero al final los resultados valen la pena tanto esfuerzo. Creo que éste es el único medio de arte en 2D con el que he considerado seguir trabajando ¡me encantó!

Si les gustaría ver más de mi trabajo den click aquí

2 responses to “Printmaking: Intaglio

  1. Pingback: Inspiration Friday | Where the Clay and Hands Meet·

  2. Pingback: Printmaking: Lithography | Where the Clay and Hands Meet·

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

