Oil Painting and Watercolor

Ok, I am not a fan of 2D work, at least not making it, but I gotta say I enjoyed these classes and learning new art-making techniques. It was my first time doing these two, so they were a big challenge. I really wasn’t sure of showing these works but at the end they are part of my process to become an artist. Oil painting was really a pain for me –literally, standing up for six hours a week with a huge pregnant belly was not that fun– but I think I learned a lot. I am not a painter and never will be, that’s for sure, I would probably starve to death if I tried to live off my oil painting skills.

In the case of watercolor, man did I enjoy it?! But honestly, I really suck at it. Lets just say I am not a 2D-art person. Anyway, some day, if I have the time, I would love to explore this medium more and improve the skills I got from this class. Both oil painting and watercolor where introductory classes, so we just learned the fundamentals; and there is not much you can do in two months, really. The good thing is knowing that I have options to explore, just for art’s sake, when creativity and inspiration knock on my door. Who knows, maybe some day I will make something that I actually like and will be proud of hanging it on my wall.

*****

Ok, la verdad no soy fan de los trabajos 2D, o al menos no soy fan de hacerlos, pero debo aceptar que disfruté estas clases y sobre todo el aprender nuevas formas y técnicas para crear arte. Fue mi primera vez pintando al óleo y en acuarela, así que fue un gran reto para mí. No estaba segura de si mostrar estos trabajos o no, pero al final son parte del proceso de convertirme en artista. La clase de pintura al óleo fue —literalmente– un dolor de cabeza (y cuerpo), estar parada por seis horas a la semana con mi panzota de embarazada no era muy divertido que digamos; pero creo que aprendí demasiado. No soy pintora y nunca lo seré, de eso estoy convencida, seguramente me moriría de hambre si tratara de vivir de mi habilidad como pintora con óleo.

En el caso de acuarela ¡sí que disfruté esa clase! Pero honestamente soy muy mala para ello. Digamos que definitivamente no sirvo para trabajar en dos dimensiones. Algún día, si es que tengo el tiempo, me encantaría explorar más este medio y así mejorar la poca habilidad que adquirí en esa clase. Ambas clases, pintura al óleo y acuarela, fueron introductorias, por lo tanto solo aprendí lo más fundamental; y en realidad no hay mucho que puedas hacer en dos meses –que es lo que duró la clase. Lo bueno del caso es el saber que tengo opciones para explorar en el momento que la creatividad e inspiración toquen a mi puerta. Quién sabe, igual y un día hago algo que en verdad me guste y que esté orgullosa de colgar en mi pared.

Bottles, 2011

Bottles, 2011

Color Explorations, 2011

Color Explorations, 2011

Where My Thoughts Can Take Me, 2011

Where My Thoughts Can Take Me, 2011

Watercolor Explorations, 2011

Watercolor Explorations, 2011

Still Life, 2011

Still Life, 2011

Replica, 2011

Replica, 2011

Under the Moonlight, 2011

Under the Moonlight, 2011

Sunset, 2011

Sunset, 2011

Sunrise, 2011

Sunrise, 2011

Untitled, 2011

Untitled, 2011

Color Shed, 2011

Color Shed, 2011

Yellow Patchwork, 2011

Yellow Patchwork, 2011

One response to “Oil Painting and Watercolor

  1. Pingback: Works of Winter 2011 | Where the Clay and Hands Meet·

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

