Inspiration Friday

Shio-1-Occulus

Have I ever mentioned that I love design? Well, I do, if I had to pick another career that would be it. Anyway, A few months back I spotted this artist/designer on this awesome design blog and I thought it was so worth to be part of my Pinterest boards. Daniel MacDonald was inspired by a trip to Yellowstone National Park to create this amazing sculptural lamps called shio, which is the Japanese name for salt. He has a super interesting process where he literally grows each of his sculptures. He makes a porous skeleton for each sculpture by hand and then flows salt water over them, which sticks to them and makes millions of tiny crystals grow out of them. Very impressive, huh? Every sculptural lamp is unique and, oh! so beautiful; and if I had the money I wouldn’t hesitate to have one of these lighting up my living room.

*****

¿Alguna vez les mencioné que me encanta el diseño? Bueno ¡me fascina! Si tuviera que escoger otra vocación, esa sería. En fin, pues hace unos meses, mientras visitaba éste blog de diseño, me topé con éste artista/diseñador y me pareció que se merecía ser parte de mis tableros de Pinterest. Daniel MacDonald se inspiró en un viaje que hizo a Yellowstone National Park para crear éstas maravillosas lámparas esculturales, a las que llama shio (sal en japonés). Tiene un proceso súper interesante donde literalmente cultiva cada una de sus esculturas. Para cada lámpara hace un esqueleto poroso a mano y los cubre con agua salina, ésta se adhiere al esqueleto y hace que, con el tiempo, millones de cristales diminutos crezcan de él. Bastante impresionante ¿no creen? Cada escultura es única y tan hermosa; si tuviera el dinero, no la pensaría dos veces para tener una de éstas lámparas alumbrando algún cuarto en mi casa.

To learn more about shio, visit studioshio.com

Spotted at design milk

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

