Finding Your Style

Cheryl Tenorio * Threadition

On Tuesday I had my last final of college, and I have to say it went better than I expected considering that it was an oral presentation and I’m not of the public speaking type. Anyway, the class was Advanced Writing and our final was a report on the same topic our research paper was about. I did mine on the importance of finding inspiration on the work of others and knowing those sources of inspiration well enough to get the most of them; and I used Gustavo Pérez as an example. Do you remember him? I did an Inspiration Friday about him a few weeks ago. Well, when the presentation was over someone asked me how I managed to keep my own style without my work looking too similar to those that inspire me. It was kind of hard to explain it at the moment (and I’m pretty sure I didn’t answer the question quite well) but it got me thinking about it.
I think finding your own style is one of the hardest processes an artist has to go through, but once you find it, it doesn’t matter where you find your inspiration, your work will be as unique as it gets. I guess the question would be: how do you find your own style? For me, it was more a matter of finding out what I wanted to communicate with my work, and once I was able to answer that question, the creative process became much more easy and my work much more defined. I said once that I think I’ve found my own style or at least the direction I want to follow; however, that doesn’t mean my work can’t evolve throughout time and even follow another path if necessary. I don’t know, art isn’t easy, and answering this kind of questions just makes it more complex…what do you guys think? Was it easy for you to find your own style? Do you think there’s an obvious relation between your work and the work of those that inspire you?

I’ll leave you with the video that I used during my presentation, very inspiring! And I couldn’t agree more with Gustavo Pérez:

“In the case of ceramics, for me, there’s no need for discourse. I am not wanting to say anything more than form, composition, contrast, color. Fundamentally, ceramics transmit sensations.”

PS. Pictures of my show coming soon.

*****

Hace dos días tuve mi último exámen final de la universidad, y déjenme decirles que resultó mejor de lo que esperaba, considerando que era una presentación oral y yo no soy amante de hablar en público. La clase era de escritura avanzada y nuestro final consistía en dar un reporte oral de lo que habíamos escrito para nuestro ensayo de investigación. Yo escribí acerca de lo importante que es que busquemos inspiración en el trabajo de otros y conocer esas fuentes de inspiración lo suficiente para sacarles el mayor provecho; y utilicé el trabajo de Gustavo Pérez como ejemplo. ¿Se acuerdan de él? Escribí un post sobre su trabajo hace unas semanas. Bueno, cuando terminé de presentar alguien me preguntó cómo le hacía para mantener un estilo propio en mi trabajo sin que se viera muy similar al trabajo de aquellos que me inspiran. Fue un poco difícil explicarlo en ese momento (y estoy casi segura que ni respondí bien la pregunta) pero me hizo reflexionar en el asunto.

Creo que encontrar un estilo propio es uno de los procesos mas difíciles y largos por los que pasa un artista, pero en el momento que lo encuentras, no importa en qué o quiénes te inspires, tu trabajo siempre será único y original. Supongo que la pregunta importante sería: ¿Cómo encuentras un estilo propio? Para mí fue más una cuestión de descubrir qué es lo que quiero comunicar con mi trabajo; una vez que fui capaz de responder esa pregunta, mi proceso creativo fluyó más fácil y mi trabajo se vio más definido. Una vez dije que creo que ya he encontrado mi estilo o al menos la dirección que quiero seguir; sin embargo, eso no quiere decir que mi tabajo no va a evolucionar o que puede tomar otra dirección si así lo veo necesario. No sé, el arte no es fácil, y contestar este tipo de preguntas sólo lo hace más complejo creo…o ¿qué piensan ustedes? ¿Fue fácil para ustedes encontrar un estilo propio? ¿Creen que hay una relación obvia entre su trabajo y el de aquellos que son su inspiración?

Los dejo con el video que usé para mi presentación, es muy inspirador. Y no podría estar más de acuerdo con lo que dice Gustavo Perez:

“En el caso de la cerámica, para mí, no hay necesidad de un discurso. No estoy queriendo decir nada más que forma, composición, contraste, color. La cerámica transmite sensaciones, fundamentalmente.”

PD. Fotos de mi exhibición en camino.

Link to video: http://vimeo.com/38652568

2 responses to “Finding Your Style

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

