Inspiration Friday

Glithero * Blueware Vases

As a young artist –and by young, I mean that I am barely starting off– I’m always looking for sources to rely my inspiration on, new techniques or things I can apply to my own work. And even though I have found my style (or at least the direction I want to follow), I get excited every time I see something innovative that inspires my creativity; specially when it comes to unusual things that nobody (that means me) would think they would work in such unexpected and beautiful way. I’ve seen people use different things as a some sort of stencil to decorate their pieces; and when I saw these vases I thought they were made the same way by spraying the glaze on the pieces. But, how come they looked so perfectly painted? Because they are not spray painted! Glithero, the London based company that came up with these beautiful designs on hand thrown porcelain vases, uses a process called “Cyanotypes”. In this process, they work the vase with a light-sensitive chemical and then expose it to ultraviolet light, which makes a photogram of whatever they used as a “stencil” and turns the rest of the piece blue! (that’s why it’s called CYANotype)…Really cool huh? But you need to check out the video so you can get as excitingly inspired as I got. Enjoy!

*****

Como artista joven –y por joven me refiero a que apenas estoy empezando– siempre estoy buscando recursos en los cuales pueda apoyar mi inspiración, nuevas técnicas o cosas que pueda aplicar en mi propio trabajo. Y aunque creo que ya he encontrado mi estilo y personalidad como artista (o al menos la dirección que me interesa seguir), me emociono cada vez que encuentro cosas tan innovadoras que despiertan mi creatividad; más cuando se trata de cosas inusuales que nadie (o sea yo) creería que funcionarían en maneras tan bellas e inesperadas. He visto a varias personas usar diferentes cosas como esténciles para decorar sus piezas, y cuando ví éstas vasijas pensé que estaban hechas de la misma manera y que el esmalte había sido rociado en la pieza; pero me pareció que se veían muy perfectas para estar cubiertas con esmalte. Bueno, pues eso es porque ¡no es ningún tipo de emalte! Glithero, la compañía de Londres que lanzó al mercado éstos hermosos diseños en vasijas hechas a mano, utiliza un proceso llamado “cianotipia”. En éste proceso, las piezas son cubiertas con químicos sensibles a la luz y luego expuestas a rayos ultravioleta, ésto hace un fotograma de lo que sea que se haya utilizado como “esténcil” y el resto se torna de color azul (por eso el nombre de CIANotipia)…Bastante interesante ¿no creen? Pero necesitan ver el video para que puedan emocionarse tanto como yo. ¡Disfrútenlo!

https://i1.wp.com/www.glithero.com/sites/studioglithero.everita.com/files/imagecache/cinema/blueware_vases-94_2.jpg

http://www.glithero.com

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

