Work in Progress

Just like any piece of artwork, ceramics require a long, sometimes intricate, process before you can enjoy the final product. And while some pieces are ready right after the second fire, my pieces still need more work after that. I will talk more about my process once I can show you my finished pieces, just so you know what I’m talking about. Meanwhile, I have nothing else but hoping to have enough time to finish my three biggest pieces for my show before Monday. Long nights without sleep await… By the way, do you remember when I told you how unpredictable clay is? Well, to reaffirm that statement I have these pieces. They’re porcelain pieces fired at cone 10 and I was expecting to get clean white pieces after the second fire; however, they came out with a grayish color I wasn’t expecting. In the end, I think they’ll work the same or even better so, I can’t complain.

*****

Como cualquier obra de arte, la cerámica requiere de un proceso largo y aveces minucioso antes de poder disfrutar del producto final. Y mientras algunas piezas están listas al momento de salir de la segunda quema, mis piezas aún requieren de más trabajo. Hablaré más acerca del proceso que sigo al crear mi trabajo una vez que tenga mis piezas terminadas para que sepan de qué les estoy hablando. Mientras tanto, solo me queda esperar tener el tiempo suficiente para terminar las tres piezas más grandes para mi exhibición antes del lunes. Me espera mucho trabajo y largas noches sin dormir. Por cierto, ¿recuerdan cuando les hablé de qué tan impredecible es la cerámica? Prueba de ello fue cuando salieron éstas piezas de la segunda quema. Las piezas son de porcelana, y al ser horneadas a cono 10 se espera que la porcelana se vuelva blanca. Bueno, mis piezas salieron con un tono grisáceo, no lo que esperaba ver, pero al final funcionará igual o mejor de lo que pensaba. 

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

