Art.Work

Art.Work is a new series on BYUtv that focuses on the creative process of students in the College of Fine Arts and Communications. I really wanted to share this with you, not only because I am part of that College but also because the professors that are featured on Episode 1 mean a lot to me. Von Allen is the head of the Ceramics department and I have been under her instruction for the past two years; she has helped me so much to find my own voice in the art world. Liz Crowe is the one that introduced me to this amazing and always dusty world; she was my first ceramics teacher and has, in some way, inspired me to continue on this path. I can’t even express how grateful I am to them because of this. These videos are very inspiring, at least for me they are; hopefully they will be for you too.

 “I think we are fundamentally different than the other people in the art world, we come to the medium in a real emotional and tactile way; it’s sort of like falling in love.”

Von Allen

*****

Art.Work es una nueva serie que se transmite en BYUtv y que se enfoca en el proceso creativo de los estudiantes del Departamento de Artes Visuales y Comunicaciones. Tenía muchas ganas de compartir esto con ustedes, no sólo porque yo soy parte de ese departamento, sino también porque las profesoras que son presentadas en el Episodio 1 significan mucho para mí. Von Allen está a la cabeza del Departamento de Cerámica y he estado bajo su instrucción en éstos dos últimos años; ella me ha ayudado muchísimo a encontrar mi propia voz en éste mundo del arte. Liz Crowe es quien me introdujo a éste mundo maravilloso y polvoriento de la cerámica; ella fue mi primer maestra de cerámica y de alguna forma me inspiró a seguir en éste camino. Y es por esto que me siento muy agradecida hacia ellas, de una manera que no puedo siquiera expresar. Éstos videos son muy inspiradores, al menos lo son para mí; espero que puedan serlo para ustedes también.

“Creo que somos fundmentalmente diferentes al resto de las personas en el mundo del arte, llegamos a éste medio de una manera realmente emocional y tangible, como en una especie de enamoramiento.”

Von Allen

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

