Inspiration Friday

dirt-poster-8-580x433

When I was writing yesterday’s post, I kept thinking of the messy process that sometimes ceramics involves. I suppose that I just got used to it, and obviously, my love for ceramics and art is just way bigger than my desire to wear fancy shoes and clothes everyday. Every time I came back from school with my dusty shoes and pants covered with clay, I bet the neighbors were thinking what a messy person I was. But, even though I would have liked to dress nicely for school every single day, I just spent so many hours at the studio that just didn’t see the point (and it’s not like I was actually a messy person but, for me, a pair of pants, my tennis shoes and a t-shirt were just enough). I mean, I rather use my nice shoes and clothes somewhere they can’t get damaged. So, when I spotted this super cool Dirt Poster a few months ago, suddenly I felt identified with what it said, and thought: “man! I hope it is true!” I don’t know, just random thoughts came to my mind –like the time I had to go to a class smelling like bacon because I had just fired the raku kiln; or the time my arms and elbows where all covered with ink because I printed from a very small plate while doing some intaglio work. Yes, art is messy and you gotta love it! Otherwise you will spend many hours, or even years, complaining of paint stains on your clothes and stuff like that.

So, going back to the cool poster, I just loved the concept and how a designer was able to explain exactly and so graphically what many artists have felt some time: “I just hope all this dirty work pays off someday.” And I am not talking about money here, I am talking about feeling fulfilled with what you do, because when you do, money and success will inevitably come along. Or at least that’s what I believe, what do you guys think?

The designer’s name is Roland Reiner Tiangco and here are some pictures of the opening of a Dirt Poster. You gotta get dirty if you wanna see beyond, right?

*****

Cuando estaba escribiendo el post de ayer, pensé constantemente en qué tan sucio puede ser aveces trabajar con cerámica. Supongo que ya estoy acostumbrada, y obviamente mi amor por la cerámica y el arte es mucho mayor que mi deseo de vestir zapatos y ropa lindos todos los días. Cada día, al regresar de la escuela con mis zapatos todos polvorientos y mis pantalones con manchas de barro, estoy segura que los vecinos llegaron a pensar que soy una persona muy desaliñada. Pero aunque me hubiese encantado poder vestir súper bien para la escuela todos los días, pasaba tantas horas en el estudio que de verdad no veía el punto (tampoco quiere decir que iba súper fodonga, pero para mí unos pants, mis tenis y una playera eran suficientes). Digo, no sé ustedes pero yo, prefiero usar mis mejores zapatos y ropa en un lugar donde sé que no se pueden echar a perder. Así que cuando me crucé con este padrísimo Dirt Poster hace unos meses, inmediatamente me sentí identificada con lo que dice, y pensé: “¡de verdad espero que esto sea cierto!” Y de repente algunos recuerdos se vinieron a mi mente –como la vez que tuve que ir a mi siguiente clase oliendo como tocino porque apenas había quemado una pieza en el horno de rakú; o la vez que mis brazos y codos estaban cubiertos de tinta porque acababa de imprimir un trabajo de intaglio usando una placa muy pequeña. Sí, el arte puede llegar a ser muy sucio ¡y te tiene que gustar! De otra manera pasaríamos horas, sino es que años, quejándonos de manchas de pintura en nuestra ropa y cosas por el estilo.

Así que regresando al súper poster, me fascinó el concepto y cómo un diseñador fue capaz de explicar tan exacta y gráficamente lo que muchos artistas sentimos en algún punto: “sólo espero que todo este trabajo valga la pena”.  Y no estoy hablando de dinero en lo absoluto, hablo de sentir satisfacción con lo que haces, porque una vez que llegas a ese punto, el dinero y el éxito inevitablemente llegarán. O al menos eso es lo que yo creo ¿qué piensan ustedes?

El nombre del diseñador es Roland Reiner Tiangco y aquí hay algunas fotos de cuando se abre uno de estos Dirt Posters. Te tienes que ensuciar para poder ver más allá ¿o no?

First spotted at Design Mom

Leave a Comment * Deja un Comentario

